–  We were kids at a time that now seems so long ago. We were different, but the same. We were friends, two years apart, but still close. You weren’t the best kid around, but you weren’t the worst either. Sometimes you were a brat that needed discipline, but other times you were an angel. I liked you a lot, but now I’ve realized you’ve really changed, as life often changes people.

–  The you I knew in my childhood no longer exists. Seeing you again after so long has made me realize that. I can no longer see the one I thought I knew. Standing before me is a complete stranger, someone I wouldn’t even want in my life. You took a wrong turn down life’s road somewhere between then and now, which has changed you for the worst. I don’t recognize you, nor do I know you. Our past has left me and I stand alone with you—a stranger.

–  Seeing you made me recall all of the things I had forgotten and all of the things I wish still existed. Nothing stays the same, but the change you have made has left me with broken hopes and dreams. Stealing, drugs, maybe alcohol too has become your life and will never be a part of mine. I can hope and pray that it is a phase that will fade away, but it is those phases that destroy the lives of others. I just hold the smallest hope, unlikely as it is, you will see the light and turn back before it’s too late.

–  I stand alone with the hopes and dreams of childhood gone by. I never noticed before, but you’ve been walking on a different path since we separated. I will walk my path, hoping for your future. You will walk yours, unaware of my existence.



Sharifah I’m Sharifah, known as Helen or Helly to my best friends, aged eighteen. I’m mixed American and Omani. My mother is American of Irish, Scottish, English, German, and Norwegian descent and my father is Omani, making me 50% Arab and 50% European in ethnicity.

My parents are divorced and remarried. I live with my mother and stepfather and visit my father and stepmother on the weekends. I have three siblings—two brothers and one sister aged 15, 9, and 14—and nine step-siblings, eight which I have not met. We have 3 cats—Miguel, Jesse, and Spiros—and a dog named Princess.

I love reading and writing, music and movies, chatting with people from all over the world and hanging out with my mom and younger sister, my two best friends.

I loved reading since I started reading around the age of five or six. I discovered my love for making up stories and writing them down at age thirteen. I even completed two books, one at age thirteen and the other at age fourteen, but unfortunately lost both of them (one when the computer crashed and the other I forgot the password).

My favorite music is Chinese pop and rock, Japanese pop and rock, Korean pop and rock, Thai pop and rock, and Filipino pop and rock. I also listen to the regular pop and rock, some Latin pop and rock, country, jazz, blues, R&B, nasheed, and nasyid (Malay nasheed).

Some of the movies and shows I like are also international. Two of my favorite movies are Pavilion of Women (Chinese) and Do Re Mi Fa So La Si Do (Korean). I have watched Autumn Tale and Full House, two Korean dramas I love, and I’m in the process of finishing Goong, another Korean drama. I also want to watch Goong S, but have not managed to find any links to the series online yet.


  • None
  • Urban Muslimahs: Salaams Sharifah! Just saw that you posted in your blog and looking forward to reading more insha'Allah
  • Minty: Salam Alaykum Sister, nice to meet you, and welcome to the bloggy world.. i hope you have fun and make new friends. regards minty
  • ilyani: Salam Helen! I found your blog via your Interpals page. I cant remember I have sent you a message before but your profile looks familiar :D How's Om